2018 Advisory Board

  • Patrick Ellis

    Associate Consultant Smithers Rapra

    Patrick Ellis qualified at the Borough polytechnic as a Plastics Technologist in 1959. He worked for Shell Chemicals first in the field of epoxy resins and later in the development of expanded polystyrene. He left Shell in 1963 to join Borg-Warner Chemicals, where he was responsible for the development of wide ABS sheet, particularly for small marine craft. In 1970 he joined GEP as Area Sales Manager and in 1972 he moved Monsanto to develop their position in the European automotive industry. In 1976 he joined Hercules Europe as Technical Manager responsible for injection and blow moulding PP business.

    When Hercules and Montedison formed Himont, he was appointed European Market Development Manager. Later Neste Chemicals bought the Himont Belgium operation, when was asked to become part of Neste Polypropylene as Business Development Manager. In 1991, he left Nest to set up his own consultancy business, where he has carried out numerous single and multi-clients’ studies on polyolefins processes and catalysts, compounding of polyolefins and thermoplastics elastomers, as well as a number of global elastomer studies. He has recently finished a global elastomer study for Smithers and as well as one on global thermoplastic elastomers (TPE) and another on the European market for fibre reinforced thermoplastics (FRT).

    • France
  • Stefan Roth

    Dr. Stefan Roth

    Professor of Product Development/Design University of Applied Sciences Schmalkalden

    University degree in Plastics Technology at Chemnitz University of Technology, Chemnitz (Germany)

    PhD Chemnitz University of Technology, thesis "Electromagnetic Shielding by steel fibre filled compounds"

    Three years experience in automotive industry at Mann+Hummel, Ludwigsburg (Germany), R&D, field of work FEM, injection molding simulation of air intake and filter systems
    since 2007 with B.Braun Melsungen AG, Melsungen (Germany):

    Start in R&D of infusion systems, managing projects in development of infusion pumps,

    Since 2010: built-up and heating Materials group, Pre-Development / Technical Laboratories, working field: material selection for medical disposables and pumps, formula development and refinement, polymer analysis

    • Germany
  • Dr. Krishna Venkataswamy

    Senior Vice President & Chief Technology Officer Interface Performance Materials

    Dr. Krishna Venkataswamy is the Senior Vice President & Chief Technology Officer at Interface Performance Materials.

    Krishna has been in the Thermoplastic Elastomer (TPE) industry for twenty five years. He has worked in TPE development for consumer, medical, industrial and automotive applications and his efforts have led to several commercial products. He is considered one of the most successful industry leaders in commercializing technologies. He has nearly combined fifty patents and papers to his credit.

    Dr. Venkataswamy has chaired or co-chaired many American and international conferences on Thermoplastic Elastomers. He has delivered key note speeches on TPEs in several international conferences in US and Asia. Krishna has delivered several invited lectures in international conferences organized by American Chemical Society, Society of Plastics Engineers and European RAPRA as well as in academic and research institutions such as Massachusetts Institute of Technology, University of Akron, University of Florida, SPE (Mumbai @ UDCT), Indian Institute of Technology (Chennai) and National Chemical Laboratories (Pune).

    Dr. Venkataswamy was honored with “2012 Annual Award in Research and Engineering Technology” from the Society of Plastic Engineers for his technical contributions leading to commercial success in plastics. Prior to this, he has honored with “2006 Fellow Award” from the SPE for his technical contributions and commercial successes in the Thermoplastic Elastomer Industry. Only 300 SPE members (1% of the total membership globally) counting 2006 awardees are elected to this prestigious status since the Fellow Program inception.

    Krishna has been the recipient of the “Outstanding Achievement Award for Leadership in 1999”, from Society of Plastics Engineers for his outstanding contributions as the Chairman of Board of Directors of Engineering Properties and Structures Division (EPSDIV) for 1997-1998. . He served as a Director on the EPSDIV Board for ten years. He is a Director of the Distinguished Alumni Board at the University of Florida. He was the Chairman for the New Technology Forum” which is focused on conducting symposiums on future trends in technology treat the SPE national meetings and currently serving as a member.

    Dr. Venkataswamy was awarded the Sherwin-Williams/ICI award in Applied Polymer Science in 1986 from Division of Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering, of American Chemical Society. This was for a paper from his doctoral dissertation which was among nearly one hundred papers considered for this award that year.

    Krishna was awarded a PhD in Polymer Science and Engineering from Case Western University in 1985. He has MS degree in Materials Science and Engineering from University of Florida and a B.Tech degree in Chemical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology.

    • USA
  • Dr. Stephanie Waschb├╝sch

    Editor TPE Magazine International

    Editor-in-Chief TPE Magazine
    Vice-editor-in-Chief GAK Gummi Fasern Kunststoffe / RFP Rubber Fibres Plastics
    Senior Editor PU Magazin / PU Magazine International

    Dr. Gupta Publishing, Ratingen, Germany

    Editor in the field of polymer-related subjects for 15+ years with focus on elastomers and polyurethanes

    Member of the German Rubber Society (DKG) and the Society of Plastics Engineers (SPE)

    • Germany